Waitlist Registration & Expiration
A waitlist may be available for any class unless the department turns it off. If a full class is offering a waitlist, a “WL” will appear next to the class in MyMAP. You can add yourself to a waitlist by clicking on the “WL” and accepting the terms. If you are not eligible to add a particular class based on class limitations (e.g. majors only) or registration holds, you will not see the waitlist option. You cannot waitlist an envelope. You can check your position or remove yourself from a waitlist at any time in MyMAP.
Waitlists expire the evening of the fourth calendar day of the semester or term, or when a department requires permission-to-add codes for a class.
Once a seat becomes available, and you are first on the waitlist, you will be automatically added to the class. If you no longer want the class, you must remove yourself from the waitlist (from the Register tab in MyMAP). If you are registered for another section of the same class, it will be dropped if the waitlisted section is added. (This doesn’t happen with R-suffix classes.) You can only waitlist one section of the same class (except R-suffix classes). Waitlisting does not guarantee that you will get a seat in the class. You will be skipped in the waitlist if you have registration holds, if adding the class will cause you to go over the maximum credit hour limit (e.g. undergrad: 18.0 during Fall/Winter), or if you do not meet other class limitations (e.g. majors only, etc.). Waitlisted classes will be added even if there is a time conflict with another class in your schedule. If the system adds you to a waitlisted class, you will be notified by email.
The only way to override the waitlist is to ask your instructor for a permission-to-add code. It is your instructor’s decision on whether to give you a code or not. There is no other way for faculty or staff to move students up on the waitlist.
Waitlist Information for Faculty
Faculty are able to see the waitlist for any section they can access via the class roll. The waitlist queue will indicate a time stamp of when the student was added to the waitlist. There is also an option to send a message to selected students on the waitlist. If the department adds more seats to the class, students on the waitlist will be added first.
If there is a long waitlist, the department may decide they would like to add another section of the class. If this happens, they would need to inform students of the newly created section.